

Distinguished Seminar Computer Science



Overview of Innovation Programs at NSF

Dr. Rathindra (Babu) DasGupta National Science Foundation (NSF) Nov 11, Tuesday, 4:00 - 5:00 pm Toomey Hall 140

(Reception and Networking, 5:00-5:30 pm)

Abstract - This presentation will focus on the following programs at the NSF.

- *Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR) & Small Business Technology Transfer (STTR):* The objective of the NSF SBIR/STTR Program is to increase the incentive and opportunity for small firms to undertake cutting-edge, high risk, high quality scientific, engineering, or science/engineering education research with high potential economic payoff.
- *Industry University Cooperative Research Center (I/UCRC):* This program develops long-term partnerships among industry, academe, and government. The centers are catalyzed by a small investment from the NSF and are primarily supported by industry center members.
- *Accelerating Innovation Research-Technology Translation (AIR-TT):* The overall objective of the AIR-TT program is to provide funding that will enable research discoveries to be translated onto a path toward commercial reality while engaging faculty and students in entrepreneurial and market-oriented thinking.
- *Innovation Corps (I-Corps):* The NSF recognizes that transitioning technology out of an academic laboratory requires different skill sets and knowledge, and that these skills and expertise are much more common in a start-up environment than an academic one.

Brief Bio - Dr. Babu DasGupta joined the NSF in June 2006 as a Program Director in the Division of Industrial Innovation and Partnerships (IIP), Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR) Program. He led the I/UCRC program from 2008 till 2013. He is currently the lead program director for the Innovation Corps (I-Corps) program. Before joining NSF, he was the chief scientist for CONTECH Division, SPX Corporation. Prior to that, he held various professorships at the Milwaukee School of Engineering, UW-Madison, UW-Milwaukee, and Western Michigan University. He received the Raymond D. Peters Endowed Professorship in Materials Science (1987-1990) and Inland Steel Ryerson Outstanding Undergraduate Teacher Award (1985) at the Milwaukee School of Engineering, Herman Doehler Award (2000) from the North American Die Casting Association, and Innovation Award at CONTECH (1997). In 2013, Dr. DasGupta was elected the NAI Fellow. He has published numerous papers, presented at various international conferences, and holds five patents.